Chemical Coaters Association International awards 2019 student scholarships

CCAI National President Bill Oney, left, and Vice President of Education Bruce Bryan, center, present a Matt Heuertz scholarship to Kolt Knutson at the recent Wisconsin Jim Steffes Memorial Golf Outing. (Courtesy: CCAI)

The Chemical Coaters Association International has announced this year’s scholarship recipients for students in school programs geared toward coatings and finishing.

For the past several years, CCAI has awarded scholarship money from the CCAI Matt Heuertz Scholarship Fund to students in programs (technical schools, high schools, and colleges) targeted toward coatings and finishing. CCAI received many qualified applicants as the growth of this program continues to attract bright new talent to the

industrial finishing and coatings industry. In addition, CCAI chapters have awarded their own scholarships for students in their regions.

CCAI National awarded $19,500 in scholarships to twelve students this year. In addition to cash awards, each recipient receives a one-year student membership in CCAI which allows them to gain significant exposure to the industry and benefit from the multitude of resources available through the association.

“CCAI is truly dedicated to supporting the next generation of industrial finishing staff through our growing scholarship programs,” said CCAI Executive Director Anne Goyer. “Both our national office and our chapters continue to distribute scholarships to deserving students that are working towards careers in our industry. The amount of both scholarship dollars and number of students we are assisting grows each year. We plan to continue to expand our scholarship program and follow our students as they embark on their careers.”

CCAI congratulates the National Matt Heuertz Scholarship recipients:

  • Genna Andreae, University of Wisconsin-Platteville.
  • Jacob Bishop, The University of Alabama.
  • Alec Jobbins, University of California-Berkeley.
  • Kolt Knutson, University of Wisconsin-Stout.
  • Evan Laffin, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.
  • Elaine Lee, University of Minnesota.
  • Austen Pawlaczyk, University of Toledo.
  • Sydney Preston, University of Cincinnati.
  • Stephen Quaglieri, University of Wisconsin-Stout.
  • Casey Roeser, University of Wisconsin-Madison.
  • Ashley Sullivan, University of Cincinnati.
  • Austin Wheaton, University of Wisconsin-Stout.

Sydney Preston was honored with the largest scholarship, $5,000.

Sydney Preston

“Selecting our top scholarship winner is always difficult,” said Goyer, “but Sydney is an impressive student currently serving as an applications engineer in a co-op program at DuBois Chemicals, a CCAI Corporate member company. She is also a teaching assistant at the University of Cincinnati and a member of the Society of Women Engineers.”

Congratulations are offered to the winners of CCAI Chapter Scholarships. In addition to the National awards, several CCAI chapters bestow student scholarships. This year, between national CCAI and chapter scholarships, more than $44,000 was distributed to 33 students.

CCAI accepts scholarship applications each year beginning in January. Applications can be submitted online.

The Chemical Coaters Association International (CCAI) is a technical and professional organization that provides information and training on surface coating technologies. CCAI works to raise the standards of finishing operations through educational meetings and seminars, training manuals, educational videos, and outreach programs with schools, colleges, and universities.